The Magic of Bookshops

Hello, my name is Emily and I am addicted to bookshops.

How can you beat stamp cards, prices under £10, shelves of transporters that are the closest thing to a time machine… You can’t. All (most) of the things that I hold most dear to me have been bought from a book shop: a book of a love letters, a Great Gatsby bag and my very own library set. You need a book? I can stamp one for you.

When I talk about bookshops: it can range from Waterstones to my local charity book shop, paying £12.99 to preorder the latest book to paying £2.50 for a historic non-fiction. However, there is one thing I will not stand for, and I am ashamed to say that I did try it but it was only the onc… I digress. E-Books. Books that I can’t see the spine of. Books that are not books because they are not living and breathing something magical. Books that I cannot fold the corners of or underline meaningful quotes. When I see people lounging on sun chairs, basking in the sun, reading a Kindle, a small part of me dies inside. It is treachery.

From where I am currently sitting, any direction I turn my head in, I see a pile of books and the sight is purely magnificent. How could someone sacrifice the glossy cover, the occasional ribbon to find your page, the texture of the paper for a screen. There are screens everywhere, on your laptop, phone, television, why would you reduce reading to the same fate. Because books are too much to carry? Too expensive? What happens if your kindle suddenly loses power right in the thick of the plot or the screen gives you a headache because it’s so bright. A book is never going to treat you that way.

Books have survived the Second World War with persecution from the Nazis and censorship in a numerous amount of countries still to this day, they better survive this digital age, I will make sure of it. However, Waterstones, I have a bone to pick with you: I’m a big fan, I love your author meet ups, stationary and accessories, the odd cafe and of course, the books, but why oh why do you sell Kindles. You’re selling the thing that is out to destroy you, I know you’re meant to keep your enemies close, but isn’t it too close? I’m no business expert but it seems a bit bizarre to me and the fact that I saw them on the same wall as the best sellers slightly unnerved me but again, no business expert.

But I am a bookshop expert because “the customer always knows best” and I also own a book called The Bookshop Book by Jen Campbell (I am thoroughly certified). My dream, my ultimate goal of life that when it happens, if it happens, I know I have made it, is owning a bookshop. I have seen bookshops in the form of canal boats, the most beautiful Victorian buildings and three floors high, and if I can make someone as happy the same way they make me happy, my life would be fulfilled. By the time I am wealthy enough and old enough to open my house of spines, I hope I have some healthy competition still to compete with.

What is your favourite bookshop? Do you feel the same way about Kindles or am I just an anti-technology ranter?

Emily Simms: 19:31

16 thoughts on “The Magic of Bookshops

  1. Sadly, there is no indie book stores near me unless I go to the thrift shop. I was there over the weekend and I bought 3 paperback novels for only $1.50. I was anti kindle for a very long time up until June. Now I swap and read 4-5 books on my kindle and then 2 actual books then back to my kindle. I have a love hate relationship with it.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I bout The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien, Child of God by Lolita Files, and another book that I cannot think of at the moment. I got them all at thrift shops, normally they are $1.00 for a paper pack and $1.99 for a hardcover but due to Labor Day everything was half off so paper backs were only 50 cents. I want to go back but I know I will probably end up buying hundreds of books lol

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah, its all second hand though. They had the Harry Potter series in paperback all 7 books for $1.00 separately but with the sale it would have only been $3.50, I was so tempted to buy it but the condition was really bad. Some of the pages were dark brown and covered in all types of lint.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love books and bookstores, my Mom bought me a Kindle ( I have not read a book on it yet!) – books & Kindles are like candles & electricity, they will eventually live side by side but I will always choose a physical book! Loved this post.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I enjoy the atmosphere of bookstores. There’s a magic to them that makes you not want to leave.
    To this day,I still haven’t bought a book online – although my budget says I definitely should!
    I particularly like it when they offer coffee – it’s just unfortunate they won’t let you read their books at the table.
    Fair enough, haha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I absolutely agree, a good comfy seat and coffee works wonders with a new book. I commend that you have never bought a book online because I’m ashamed to say that I have not been able to find some more obscure works in a beloved bookshop!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

