Literary characters I would invite for Christmas dinner

Scanning my books that are piled up on my floor, bedside table, desk, wardrobe and bookshelf, I noticed a few things:

  1. I need to reread most of my collection again
  2. I need to buy a massive bookshelf
  3. I am rubbish at thinking of who to invite to my imaginary Christmas dinner event

I managed to pick 5 not-so random but yet incredibly random characters and perhaps when I explain why, it will make more sense to myself. Without further ado, off we go…

(Sorry, there are plot spoilers (but in my defense, you should have already read these literary masterpieces))

1: Gatsby from The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

gatsby.gif

GIF source

When referring to Gatsby, I think we all know that I’m picturing Leo’s face, asking me to pass the roast potatoes across the table. Poor Gatsby may be lying dead in a pool of blood but he will be very much alive at my dinner party with no Daisy Buchanan in sight. I love The Great Gatsby and it is certainly in my top 3 books I will ever love and read in my life so it would not be fitting if Gatsby wasn’t invited.

Gatsby certainly knows how to plan a party so I would require his skills to help me plan the event and he can show all of my guests how to do an authentic Charleston which would provide some of the entertainment for the night. Christmas is a time to be surrounded by people that you care for and Gatsby feels alone, so being surrounded by my fabulous guests would help him get into the Christmas spirit and show him there’s more to life than appearances.

2.) August from Wonder by R.J. Palacio

august

Image source

It has been quite a while since I have read this brilliant piece but I know that August is a character I would love to have a conversation with. Long story short, August, is a 10 year old boy with a rare medical facial deformity who has been home schooled all of his life until his mother decides to enroll him in to a private school. The novel is essentially about how August and how he learns to make friends and find self acceptance.

He learns that the only person he needs acceptance from is himself and I think he would have a lot to teach my fellow guests. I also think that he would get on splendidly with a few of my guests as he is incredibly charming and true to himself. I also saw on google, that this novel was heading to the big screen with Julia Roberts and Jacob Tremblay (Jack from Room) so hopefully we would find out some movie secrets!

3.) Lemony Snicket, narrator of A Series of Unfortunate Events and main protagonist/narrator of All the Wrong Questions by Daniel Handler

lemony-snicket

Lemony Snicket (we’ll just pretend he is the writer) is quite simply the best children’s? author that I have ever had the pleasure of reading and lets face it, we’re all excited for A Series of Unfortunate Events to hit Netflix. I am a lover of all things investigative and mysterious when it comes to literature so reading his series’s is like landing on a massive marshmallow (pronounced marshMELLOW).

I have so many questions to ask him, hopefully all the right ones (ha, pun) and I would do anything for him to teach me how to write like he does. The adventures he has experienced and the secrets he knows are just too much for one guy to contain so he certainly will spill some after a few helpings of brandy sauce. It would also be a nice break from his all-encompassing day job and trying to trail an evil mastermind all the time, so a few pull of the crackers and a euphoric Christmas dinner would give Snicket a deserved day off.

4.) Agatha Raisin from The Agatha Raisin Series by M.C. Beaton

agatha

Image source

I am slightly ashamed to say that I first discovered Agatha from the tv series on Sky 1 (which you should definitely watch if you have the time) and when telling my friends about how much they needed to watch it, my friend Beth told me that she had pretty much all of the books that she was never going to read. Since I was handed the bag which I think contained 11 books out of the goodness knows how many books there are, I have been hooked.

Agatha is witty, slightly misunderstood and definitely a character you would want at any party and she is more than welcome to bring James if they’re back together by now. All of the books have wonderfully crafted plots (as Agatha is an amateur detective) and so far, I have not read one that hasn’t. She might be slightly intimidated by Snicket and have wandering eyes for Gatsby, but after she settles in, all of them will be singing ALL I WANT FOR CHRISTMAS IS YOU and share their wealth of experience.

5.) Winston Smith from 1984 by George Orwell

winston.jpg

Image source

So far, all of my characters (Gatsby can be disputed) are likeable, sane people but I feel Winston Smith is a more tortured, complex soul. For most of the novel, Smith tries to fight against the conventions of a world that believes that “War is Peace, Freedom is Slavery, Ignorance is Strength” and finds love in a place where it is condemned. Reading it, I was thinking, “YOU GO WINSTON!” but eventually he is broken down to the point where he betrays Julia, the woman he loves. At the end, there is no resolution and Smith regresses to the mindframe where he loves Big Brother and accepts his party which is definitely not a happy ending.

Winston of the end of the novel would certainly be a controversial character to invite but I believe if he met these people who (apart from Gatsby) are content with their lives and have so much to offer, it would be a Christmas miracle to show him that his life could be better.

Merry Christmas!

Emily Simms: 14:15 (5 days left)

 

4 thoughts on “Literary characters I would invite for Christmas dinner

Leave a Reply

