Hello, 2017. I like these books

Hello, 2017. Happy new year! Xin nian yu kuai! Ein glückliches neues Jahr! Blwyddyn Newydd Dda! Now that the pleasantries are over, here are some books I’ve read, am about to read and love.

What I’ve read

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

I picked this up a few months ago in my local charity bookstore and for a steal of £2.00, I just had to have it. There are some novels which have a profound effect upon you and for me, this was one of them. To think that up until 2015, Lee had only published this one book was in my view, a real loss to the literary world. Geniuses such as Van Gogh, The Beatles and Fitzgerald were not just one-hit wonders and Lee followed this trend with Go Set a Watchman , which leads us to my next book.

Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee

When I had finally finished TKAM, I needed to read Go Set a Watchman because I am a self-proclaimed ‘greedy reader’. I had a stack of books waiting to be read in my ‘to read’ draw but as I said, they weren’t going to cut it until I had read this book. With faith that it would be there, I visited my dealer a.k.a my local charity bookshop and found it in the classics section for the wonderful price of £2.00. I read somewhere that this was the first draft of TKAM and I am so glad it wasn’t because I feel that there is a step between the two books, the characters evolve and the plot reassesses the message of TKAM. You really need to read these books. I implore you.

What I’m reading

After You by Jojo Moyes

Me Before You sparked controversy with the disabled community over how the quadriplegic protagonist decided to end his life. Personally, I feel that one fictional individual does not light the way for a group of people and that his actions were not trying to be representative. People are entitled to their opinions, end of. But I really liked the film because there’s just nothing better than an absolute tear-jerker, which results with your face resembling a pond (it wasn’t pretty). The sequel, After You, (from what I’ve read, which is actually a good 3/4) is a lot different, obviously Will’s gone, Lou doesn’t wear her bumblebee tights anymore and there’s a heavy tone of grief. I like it and if you like a bit of romance, I’m sure you would too.

What I’m going to read

Talking as Fast as I Can by Lauren Graham

If you don’t know who Lauren Graham is then you’re life has not been introduced to the sprinkle of happiness that is Gilmore Girls. Stop reading this babble and go and watch it. It was a very unexpected Christmas present but I cannot wait to read it because the cover is fabulous, Lauren Graham is fabulous and Gilmore Girls is just stabulous.

The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Synopsis: the story of a girl, a boy and the universe. Vague but intriguing. I picked this up when buying my brother a book from Waterstones and it was recommended to me, so I thought ‘Warum nicht’. Since A-Levels are resuming I’m not sure when I’ll have time to read this but it seems like a good travel book and this gal is going to Köln in February.

Wishing you a merry new year!

Emily Simms: 18:13

One thought on “Hello, 2017. I like these books

Leave a Reply

